Saturday, January 26, 2013

NFL Award Predictions: Coach of the Year

     Unlike last year, where Jim Harbaugh was the obvious choice for NFL Coach of the Year, the battle for this award is much closer than in most. When it comes down to it, the three most deserving coaches are Jim Harbaugh, Pete Carroll, and Bruce Arians/Chuck Pagano. Be sure to comment on who you think deserves this award!

Jim Harbaugh: In 8 days, Jim Harbaugh will be battling against the Baltimore Ravens for the Super Bowl, not having time to worry about whether or not he wins this award. However, Harbaugh made one of the most intelligent decisions in the NFL by changing quarterbacks from Alex Smith to Colin Kaepernick. At the beginning, this decision seemed unnecessary, as the San Francisco 49ers were doing perfectly well with Smith. Then, Kaepernick helped San Francisco win the division, as well as leading them past the Falcons for a spot in the Super Bowl. It is unlikely that the NFL hands Harbaugh his second Coach of the Year Award in a row, even though he is most deserving of the award.

Pete Carroll: In 2011, the Seattle Seahawks were 7-9, and would not be playing in January for the Super Bowl title. Once Pete Carroll drafted Russell Wilson, though, and put him in at quarterback, this team was nearly unstoppable. Seattle's defense was one of the best in the league, and Marshawn Lynch maintained a consistent running game. Eventually, the Seahawks lost to Atlanta in the Divisional Round, but the fact that this young, talented squad made a playoff appearance shows off Pete Carroll's incredible coaching abilities.

Bruce Arians/Chuck Pagano: The story of the 2012 Indianapolis Colts is one of the greatest story lines in the history of the National Football League, where head coach Chuck Pagano was diagnosed with Leukemia, and Bruce Arians stepped in, leading this team into the playoffs. Without Peyton Manning, the Colts went 2-14 in 2011. Thanks greatly to quarterback Andrew Luck, the record improved to 11-5 in 2012. There is no way the NFL will not hand Bruce Arians the Coach of the Year Award on February 2nd.

Coach of the Year Prediction: Bruce Arians/Chuck Pagano

No comments:

Post a Comment